Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

FAB Fitness: Cabin Workouts

10 Comments

After a minor setback (more about that, later), my return to running has been going really well. I’m still doing the Couch to 5K program since I’m terrified about doing too much, too soon. I looked at my calendar the other day and realized that my first postpartum race is less than 2.5 weeks away! I know I won’t be racing it at that point, but it’d be cool if I could run the entire thing without stopping. And for extra motivation, my new Oiselle singlet arrived this week!

IMG_2210

 

Here are my workouts from this past weekend.

Saturday: 2.42 mile run (12:49 min/mi pace)

Labor Day weekend, we headed to the cabin for some relaxation and time with family. The weather wasn’t fantastic (oh, except for on Monday when it was time to come home) but the mornings were cool and perfect for running. Jesse’s sister and brother-in-law are training for a half and TCM so they had a long run on Saturday morning and J had four miles fast on his training plan (he’s training for a 5K right now) so we headed to the nearby trailhead.

I used the gift certificate to Mill City Running that I had received for my birthday to purchase a Stunt Puppy running leash and Cole and I broke it in Saturday morning. It worked great!

IMG_2144

Before heading out for our run. Sporting my new Oiselle superfly cap and my not-so-new Distance Shorts and Winona Tank.

Looking back at my first postpartum run, it’s been great to see improvement in my pace. The speed seems to be coming back easily and my legs feel good. This run was a five minute warm up walk, 1 minute, 30 second run and 2 minute walk for 21 minutes and then a five minute cool down walk. I felt awesome but my shins were really sore after the run was over.

Sunday: 1.07 mile walk

Sunday was a pretty low key day. J had a 60 minute run on his training plan, but I decided not to run two days in a row. Instead, I took the pup for a walk.

Monday: 2.42 mile run (12:49 min/mi pace)IMG_2193

Monday was the most beautiful day of the long weekend so I laced up my running shoes and Jesse and I headed out to get in a run before our drive back to the Cities. I ran with the pup again and broke in my new Oiselle Off the Grid knickers. LOVE THEM!

So about that setback I alluded to earlier…the week prior to last week was a little rough. I had been dealing with all-day lightheadedness and I ended up getting dizzy during a run which caused me to lose my balance and fall pretty hard. I was pretty close to home, but was still so dizzy that I accepted a ride home from a nice stranger lady. I didn’t get badly hurt (just some road rash, scrapes and bruises) but it shook me up pretty badly. I made a doctor’s appointment for the next day and it took about a week for me to get the courage up to run again. I’m feeling much, much better now, but it was scary!

On a random note, I’m getting so excited for it to be full-fledged fall. Bring on the cooler weather, boots and scarves!

Do you run while on vacation?

What are your fall racing plans?

Summer or fall?

10 thoughts on “FAB Fitness: Cabin Workouts

  1. I love running on vacation! I’m all about fall, and actually wearing a scarf today!

  2. Oh, that’s scary Hyedi, glad you are okay!

    I love fall (October is my birthday and our wedding anniversary) but I’m just not ready for summer to be done yet…

  3. Sorry to hear about your fall!!! Hope it doesn’t happen again.

    I sure do run on vacation! I have a husband who is always active, even on holiday, so it’s basically a given. For races this fall, I’ve got my Try a Tri in 2 weeks, a 10km at the end of September, an 8 mile hill race the first weekend of October, and a duathlon at the end of October. I’m also going to enter a 10 mile race I did last November.

    Definitely summer, love the long nights. I’m jealous of your Oiselle stuff!

  4. Scary! I’m SO glad you’re ok, Hyedi!

    Glad you’re taking your return to running cautiously… slow and steady and you’ll be back to it full speed in no time 🙂

  5. You look so great in the singlet Hyedi, and glad you’re okay! The last time I ran was a half marathon in June. I’m just not into running anymore, though it’s very possible I’ll pick it up again sometime in the future since I change my mind a lot. 😛

    • Thanks, Shawn! I know what you mean — I feel that way about things often. Lately, it’s been yoga, although I’m changing my mind about that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

