Race Recap: 2014 Building Strength 5k

This past Saturday, I ran the Building Strength 5k for the third year in a row. My recaps from 2013 and 2012 are here and here. The race benefits South Metro Human Services. The funds supported South Metro’s programs that benefit their clients (people who have mental illnesses or chemical dependencies).

It was warm at race start, and sunny. Because I received my Oiselle shimmel when I was already pretty pregnant and didn’t like the way it looked on me, I still hadn’t worn it for a race. This seemed like the perfect opportunity! I paired it with my fresh green Distance Shorts that Oiselle sent me along with the shimmel, my Superfly cap and new Mizuno Wave Inspire 10s. (Because a race is great way to break in a pair of new shoes, right?)

I didn’t run early in the week because I was pretty sore after last weekend’s race. Then, I was even more sore after sprinting the bases at softball on Thursday night and had Pilates the next morning, so I didn’t run on Friday — the day before the race. So I felt a bit creaky when we took off.

Right before the race, I decided that my goal would be to beat last weekend’s time, but my more ambitious goal would be to break 30 minutes. I wanted to prove to myself that I could, since I mentioned in my last recap that I felt like I could’ve if I wouldn’t have stopped for a beer.

We didn’t start right up front, but it’s a small enough race that we started closer to the front than we might have usually done. I wore my Garmin this time, so I could focus on my pace to hopefully achieve at least one of my goals.

I found myself getting pretty winded already just a mile into the race and not feeling quite as confident at the 1.5 mile mark. The race course makes two loops around a park and after finishing the first loop, I was ready to be done. But somehow I finished, and ended up achieving both goals! As I’m writing this on Sunday, the official results haven’t been posted yet (pet peeve of mine), but according to my Garmin and Runkeeper (averaged the two times), I finished in 29:22. EDITED TO ADD: results are up and official time was 29:18!

IMG_2363

This race was also fun because some of my coworkers came out and walk/ran, too! And the course was GORGEOUS — the fall colors are really getting to be pretty amazing.

IMG_2362

It’s hard to believe that my 5k PR is almost five minutes faster than I finished this past weekend. It feels almost impossible that I’ll ever run that fast again. But, I’m hoping to not only run that fast again, but faster. I still hope to break 24 minutes sometime in the near future, so I guess it’s time to get to work!

Did you race this past weekend?

Have you gotten out to enjoy the fall colors?

6 thoughts on “Race Recap: 2014 Building Strength 5k

Leave a Reply

