Random workout update + post-partum weight loss update

I haven’t done a workout recap in awhile, because my workouts were kind of all over the place. But now that I have Pilates on Tuesdays and Fridays, and a couple of weekly standing running dates with friends, I’m feeling like I’m finally getting back into the swing of things, workout-wise. I also took my first spin class in TEN MONTHS! It was quite hard, but I am so happy to be spinning again.

IMG_2384

At work, we’ve also been making a team effort to be more active. I talked about how we all have Fitbits and some coworkers ran the 5k a couple of weekends ago. I also try and take the stairs (up to the seventh floor) at least once a day and we have been doing walking meetings where I usually get in a one mile walk at the same time!

IMG_2373

I have to say that as soon as winter hits, I’m going to be sad that I didn’t do more running outside. Fall is my favorite time of the year to run outdoors and this year, fall in MN has been particularly outstanding!

I did, however, recently get out for a fun run with Andrea that took us around the Mill City and St. Anthony Main area. Love this part of Minneapolis:

IMG_2536

Related to my weekly workouts, I am officially able to zip and button my tightest pair of pre-pregnancy jeans and my favorite leather skirt! At my first post-partum checkup I was down 27 pounds from the 40 I gained while pregnant. I wanted to lose the additional 13 to get to pre-pregnancy weight and then an additional two pounds to my comfortable weight. As of the last time I weighed myself (last week) I have just over three pounds to go to my pre-pregnancy weight. However, more important than the number on the scale, I’m hoping to start incorporating more strength training into my workout routine. I’m not feeling strong at all these days so I definitely need to hit the weights!

 What’s your favorite time of the year to run? Why?

10 thoughts on “Random workout update + post-partum weight loss update

  1. Alita

    Yay Hyedi – I love all your strategies! I keep telling myself to take the stairs – but the 24th floor is a LONG way to go – ha! Hope to see you at one of my strength & conditioning classes at Revolution soon!

    Reply
    1. hyedi Post author

      Thanks, Alita! Wow — the 24th floor is a super long ways to go! At that point, it’s also a matter of the amount of time it takes to climb that many stairs 🙂 And yes — I will definitely have to hit up one of your classes!

      Reply
  2. Paulette

    I love walking meetings! My manager and I do that whenever we can/don’t need laptops. Sounds like things are going well, glad you are back to feeling better and spin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

