Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Being watched while you sleep

8 Comments

Creepy title, huh? Just a couple of nights ago, I went in for a sleep study. For the past five or so years, I’ve struggled with sleep issues on and off. The only times I feel like I’m getting quality sleep is when I’m finally so exhausted that my body just crashes. In general, I never wake up feeling refreshed and take naps on the weekend like nobody’s business. AND I’m pretty sure I developed sleep apnea while I was pregnant which can be really dangerous, so my doctor suggested that I get this checked out now. I’ve already been through a ton of other kinds of testing (blood work, etc) and everything looks normal. I’m hoping that whatever they find out (if they DO find something) and me cleaning up my diet will help me finally start getting better sleep.

So anyways, if you’ve ever been curious about what a sleep study is, it went something like this:

8:45 p.m. – Arrived at the hotel/sleep clinic. Yes, the sleep clinic is in a hotel. They must have a partnership where they get a block of rooms to office out of and hold the studies. It’s pretty smart; plus, you get access to their continental breakfast in the morning.

8:50 p.m. – Had to go back out and move my car because I parked in the wrong lot.

8:55 p.m. – Hobbled back up to the room (per my injury from falling while running)

9:00 p.m. – Filled out two additional long questionnaires (I had already filled one out at home)

9:15 p.m. – Started getting hooked up while watching a bad TNT show

10:00 p.m. – More electrodes get pasted to my face

10:10 p.m. – Got ready for bed and sent the hubs a selfie

IMG_2661

I sleep in style. Oiselle Podium PJs FTW!

10:15 p.m. – Lights out

Sometime around 11 p.m. – Still not sleeping and had to call the technician in the room to unhook me so I could use the bathroom (awkward)

Unsure of time – Back to bed. Weird dreams during the night.

6:40 a.m. – The technician woke me up over the speaker

6:45 a.m. – Took all of the wires and electrodes off of me

7 a.m. – Showered and got ready for work, filled out more questionnaires and then was on my way to work!

Next week, I have a follow up appointment with the sleep doctor (I’m sure there’s a more accurate title for her, but I’m unsure of what that is right now) where she’ll go over the results from the study. The technician wasn’t allowed to tell me anything the next morning. The only thing I know is that I don’t have moderate (or severe, for that matter) sleep apnea, because they didn’t put me on the CPAP and I’m pretty sure I don’t have any restless leg issues (not that I thought I did) because I rolled over once and the electrode came off of my leg and they didn’t come in to put it back on.

Have you or anyone you know gone through a sleep study?

How do you make sure you get good sleep?

8 thoughts on “Being watched while you sleep

  1. I haven’t done a sleep study, but sounds interesting! I try to keep myself on a schedule and sadly I know that alcohol affects my sleep, so if I need good rest, there’s no wine for me.

  2. I did one about a year ago and while it was helpful, it just confirmed what I already know. I don’t sleep well! No sleep apnea for me either but mine is more a combo of restless leg and not reaching REM for long enough.

  3. Yes and no. Some of it was changing my routine a bit by keeping the room cooler, consistent bed times and doing my best to relax. My big problem is staying asleep, I fall asleep but wake up so many times a night.

    • Yes, same here. I can usually fall asleep within minutes, but I wake up multiple times throughout the night. I fall right back asleep, but know that doesn’t allow for long periods of quality sleep!

  4. So glad you don’t have sleep apnea! I hope they’re able to give you some insight so you sleep better, though. I’ve never had a sleep study, but do know that if I’m way over tired, I get restless legs… it’s not fun!

  5. Hope everything is okay and that you’re on your way to better sleep soon. And I agree, good food choices will help with your sleep.

    I sleep well throughout the night, but if I don’t stop screen time (laptop and phone) about 30 minutes before bed, and don’t read before I go to sleep, it takes longer to fall asleep. I always wake up before my alarm, usualy about 15 minutes before, but if I’m really stressed, it can be up to an hour. I find that if I resolve the stress (usually work-related), this doesn’t happene anymore.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

