Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Race Recap: 2015 Point Bock Run

3 Comments

I debated doing a race recap, but even though I mostly walked this one, it was still a very challenging race for me, in its own way! This race took place a couple of weeks ago. J and I look forward to this weekend every year because it takes place at a brewery near where he went to college. We also have some friends who live there that we don’t see very often, so it’s a lot of fun to spend time with them. We’ve done this race eight times total now!

I started out right near the back of the pack and while most of the people right around me started out running, I wanted a good warm up before I even thought about running. Five miles is a long ways to walk! I picked up the pace in the second mile and decided it would be fun to try to negative split. My splits ended up, roughly, being:

16:01

15:29

15:01

15:02

12:43

And bonus: I wanted to finish under 1:15 and I did — 1:14:53!

IMG_3320

 

J had a great race. Even though there was a decent headwind, he PR’d with a time of 31:35 and placed 31st overall. This race has a super competitive field, so he was really happy with his finish.

My physical activity lately prior to the race had kind of been lacking. An early ultrasound showed I had a minor issue that the doctors wanted to keep an eye on, so I was on restricted activity for the first trimester. Had that not been the case, I’m honestly not sure how much I would’ve been doing anyways. I was a lot sicker this time around than when I  was pregnant with Charlie. Then, once I was cleared for physical activity, I got a bad head cold that lasted longer than a week. As soon as that passed, round ligament pain started showing up around week 16! Luckily, I’ve been able to manage the RLP with a brace the lovely Beth loaned to me and just back off of the intensity if it gets really bad. Last week, I did a combination of walking and walk/jogging for a total of 8 miles! The nice weather lately sure has helped 🙂

3 thoughts on “Race Recap: 2015 Point Bock Run

  1. Eight times in a row is awesome! So nice to have a race that you look forward to every year. Congrats!

  2. A fun tradition indeed… so neat you’ve ran it eight times! Nice job on the negative split! Glad you’re feeling better, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

