Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Stillwater Babymoon

3 Comments

Even though we didn’t even travel an hour away and only stayed one night, it was great to get away and do a mini babymoon this past weekend.

We left after work on Friday, getting to Stillwater just before 6 and went to check into our hotel. Per a suggestion from a friend, we stayed at the Lowell Inn, a classic hotel that was built in 1927 — what a cool building!

IMG_3544

We got settled in and then walked the half mile to The Green Room for dinner. It was a gorgeous night out and lots of people were out and about.

IMG_3533

We’ve been meaning to try this place for a few years now — J’s friend’s brother is one of the co-owners. It was the perfect opportunity to give it a try! The menu is super interesting — a blend of American and globally-influenced cuisine. We started with the (unpictured) lamb tacos. They were incredible. For my entree, I decided on the mushroom gnocchi. Because, well…gnocchi.

IMG_3534

I certainly didn’t hate it, but it was a bit too salty for me. Next time, I definitely want to give one of their curry dishes a try. The table’s food next to us smelled amazing.

After dinner, we took a walk along the river. I had to take an obligatory picture of the lift bridge.

IMG_3535

The next morning, we got up and walked to The Oasis Cafe for some breakfast. It recently reopened after having some renovations done, and it sure was busy! We got the last two seats at the counter.

IMG_3540

 

I branched out from my usual scrambled eggs and wheat toast and got french toast and bacon. YUM. French toast is so good. I ordered water so we could stop at Tin Bins, a cute coffee shop that was on our walk back to the hotel.

IMG_3542

Since it was another gorgeous day, so I got my first iced (decaf) of the year. We also stumbled upon the Stillwater Feed Store on our walk back and they had some cute farm animals outside of the store. They also had fresh eggs, so we picked up a dozen! It was almost 11 a.m., so we headed back to our room, packed up the car and checked out.

 

While this was a lovely getaway, I’d be lying if I said it was totally carefree and relaxing. It was too easy to draw parallels between this babymoon and our getaway that was supposed to be a babymoon while I was pregnant with Charlie. But, overall, it was a great time and we’re lucky to have been able to getaway for a night.

Favorite things to do in Stillwater?

3 thoughts on “Stillwater Babymoon

  1. Glad you were able to get away for a night. I love Stillwater! So much to do and see. Any time I go I have to hit up Mara Mi to browse stationery and Candyland for the cheddar popcorn.

  2. Completely understandable that you’d have memories of the previous trip. That happens even when my family goes on vacation, i have memories of other vacation incidents that weren’t so sweet. But I think its still important that you got the night away. And that gnocchi looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

