Finding the Perfect Gift

This post is sponsored by UncommonGoods. I received free product in exchange for writing a review. All opinions are my own.

One of my favorite things in the entire world is buying and giving people gifts. I love the challenge of finding the “perfect” gift and I love when the recipient is just as stoked to receive it as I am to give it.

One of my favorite things to gift are “experiences,” but sometimes, it’s fun to actually be able to wrap something that someone can enjoy right away. I tend to over think gift giving (let’s be honest — I over think everything) so it’s really hard for me to just go to the store and pick something up off of the shelf. This is especially true when it comes to buying gifts for my mom — I usually start my Christmas shopping for her in October because it takes me forEVER to come up with the perfect gifts for her.

My mom is an “on-the-go” kind of lady, so I was looking for something that could complement that part of her life, as well as something that would encourage her to slow down and relax, too. She’s also pretty healthy and walks 2-5 miles almost everyday. (She walks fast, too.) I bought her a FitBit a couple of Christmases ago, so I was at a loss for what I was going to get her for Mother’s Day. Then, as luck would have it, the awesome people at Uncommon Goods reached out and asked if I’d like to review some products they were featuring for Mother’s Day! I jumped at the chance, as I’ve been super curious about UncommonGoods, but hadn’t yet pulled the trigger and ordered anything from there yet. I’ve mostly been drawn to the company because they feature really unique and hand made items and their motto is that they are “created in harmony with the environment and without harm to animals or people.” (LOVE THAT.) About half of the items they carry are hand made and their lowest-paid seasonal worker starts at 50 percent above the minimum wage. They also support the following non-profits:

RAINN – the nation’s largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help survivors, and ensure that rapists are brought to justice.

American Forests – protects and restores forests worldwide, helping to preserve the health of our planet for the benefit of its inhabitants.

Women for Women International – provides women survivors of war with the tools and resources to move from crisis and poverty to stability and self-suciency.

City Harvest – strives to end hunger in communities throughout New York City through food rescue, distribution, and education.

You can read more about their story and mission here.

So here’s what I picked out for my mom:

Flavor Infuser Water Bottle

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 2.52.34 PM

 

My mom has commented on trying to find ways to make drinking water more exciting, so this really seemed like the perfect gift. I also liked that this bottle is made from glass rather than plastic. It even came with a little booklet with fun recipes!

Luxury Herbal Slippers

My mom goes through slippers like nobody’s business so I thought a new pair would be a nice, practical gift. Then I saw these organic cotton fleece slippers — stuffed with therapeutic flax seed, grains, and fragrant herbs. And you can microwave or freeze them for even more deluxe pampering! They’re super soft and my mom literally said “ahhh” when she put them on.

The cat is very interested, too.

The cat is very interested, too.

I also gifted myself this lovely pregnancy journal:

IMG_3629

The UncommonGoods folks asked me to review the Mother’s Day gift items specifically (click here or here to see their entire collection of gifts for mom), but I came across a TON of great guy gifts as I browsed the site. And guys can be really hard to shop for. I already bookmarked some items to come back to for future gift needs.

My parents live about six hours away, but unfortunately, I was able to give these gifts to my mom in person. Last week, I made an emergency trip to my parents’ house. My dad had a heart attack and needed quadruple bypass surgery. He’s doing really well, but it was incredibly scary — especially since this was his second heart attack. Since I was going to see her in person, I decided to bring her gifts along so I could give them to her early, rather than mail them. She loved them!

IMG_0049

2 thoughts on “Finding the Perfect Gift

Leave a Reply

