Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Day in the Life: Before Baby

2 Comments

I thought it might be kind of fun to do one of those ‘Day in the Life’-type posts, even if just for my own amusement to compare a typical day pre-baby and post-baby. So…here it goes! (PS – my life is not at all interesting. So congrats to you if you make it through this entire post.)

5:48 a.m. – A weird pregnancy dream makes me stir, and my cat (sensing weakness that I might be slightly awake) takes the opportunity to paw at my eyelids and sit on me until I’m fully awake and get out of bed to feed her and the dog.

5:53 a.m. – Turn on the Kuerig and take the dog around the block for a quick walk. This is becoming one of my favorite parts of the day because the neighborhood is quiet and the cool, but pleasant temps help wake me up.

6:00 a.m. – I “brew” a cup of decaf, grab a coconut water from the fridge and split up the overnight oats I made the night before. I made this batch with Hint of Vanilla Honey Almondmilk that Almond Breeze sent me to try (I usually use unsweetened original Almond Breeze Almondmilk).  I pour my portion of the oats out into a bowl and leave J’s in the mason jar for him to bring to work. I go through work and personal emails while I eat. I can definitely notice a nice, subtle additional sweetness to my oats from the honey vanilla almondmilk!

IMG_3696

6:22 a.m. – Shower and start getting ready for the day. Realizing that I need a haircut because it’s taking longer and longer to dry my hair in the mornings #thickhairproblems.

6:50 a.m. – Cut up some strawberries for my infused water, portion out some snacks for the work day and pack a lunch. Today, it’s: one brown rice tortilla, one Trader Joe’s Cowboy Quinoa Veggie Burger, some spinach (will also top with mustard at work), Plentils lentil chips, whole wheat crackers and Babybel cheese, some strawberries and blueberries and almonds.

7 a.m.  – Say goodbye to the husband. Cole (the dog) and I head out the door. He’s going to daycare today because J has a 13 mile run in the evening and then we’re going out for our monthly date night.

7:10 a.m. – Drop Cole off at daycare. The other day I realized that I get so sad when I drop him off at daycare and that I’m going to have to get used to it because soon I’ll have to drop off a human baby at daycare and I imagine that’s no walk in the park.

IMG_3687

7:50 a.m. – Starbucks drive-thru. I’m slowly breaking this habit, but achieving gold status has been my downfall. Plus, I’m weak. I order a decaf soy misto with one pump of vanilla. #highmaintenance

8:00 a.m. – Arrive at work — and earlier than usual!

4:40 p.m. – Leave work and head home a little early to grab Cole from daycare. Looking forward to dinner because I know that soon we’re not going to have the luxury of date nights whenever we feel like it.

5:35 p.m. – Traffic was pretty terrible because of the rain. I log back onto my computer for a little while to finish up some work items.

6:05 p.m. – J arrives home from his run and hops in the shower. I feed the animals and then continue with my latest obsession — tidying. I finished The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up in a day and then got to work. I haven’t had a large chunk of time to do my whole house at once, but I’ve been working my way through categories and I’m LOVING how my house feels.

7:20 p.m. – With dinner, J got his Pub Pass free beer and I had a turkey burger with sweet potato fries. It was super disappointing, so I didn’t even take a photo of it.

9 p.m. – We get home and out of habit, I turn on the radio to finish listening to the Minnesota Twins game, only to remember that they played earlier in the day and lost big time. We cut back our cable package a couple of weeks ago to save a little money and I’m really happy with our decision so far. It’s taken some adjusting to since I don’t watch TV except for sports, and that’s what I feel like has been missing so far. We still have Netflix and a Roku and Apple TV, so we’re going to be just fine. Or at least that’s what I keep telling J.

9:10 p.m. – J touches up a few spots where the paint looked a little thin in the kitchen. (Kitchen remodel update coming soon!) I (of course) do a little more tidying — this time tackling the vanity drawers in the bathroom.

9:30 p.m. – Run through my nightly fitness routine which includes some deep breathing, planks, light weight lifting, hip lifts, spine strengthening and stretching.

9:55 p.m. – Get ready for bed — includes taking my prenatal vitamins.

10:08 p.m. – Let the dog out one last time for the night.

10:10 p.m. – Lights out and in bed with my Snoogle, slightly later than usual. These days, I’m pretty wiped out by the time 8:30 rolls around and usually it’s lights out by 10. I realize I didn’t listen to my Hypnobabies tracks today. I was on a roll, but am too tired to do it now.

*This post was sponsored by Almond Breeze Almondmilk. I received one free 32oz of Almond Breeze Almondmilk Hint of Honey Vanilla. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Day in the Life: Before Baby

  1. I just read “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” too and I loved it – it really inspired me to purge – it’s my form of nesting right now! Your day sounds like mine – boring, maybe, but that will change soon enough!

Leave a Reply

