Third Trimester Recap: Weeks 29-30

 

Feeling sore and large — that’s how I’d sum up the past couple of weeks. But at the suggestion of my acupuncturist, I picked up some epsom salt and have been getting in a few soaks. Not only have the baths been super relaxing, I feel like the epsom salt has been really good for my sore, aching joints and muscles. I even had a couple nights of decent sleep!

We also had a great first prenatal meeting with our doula, Angie. Already, her presence makes me feel calm and reassured — I’d say that’s definitely a good sign! We spent the two hours talking about my last pregnancy and delivery, important pieces of this birth plan and fun things like eating my placenta (as much as I actually want to do this, I’m having it encapsulated instead) — it’s all getting so real. Our next meeting is going to be somewhere around 34-35 weeks. I also borrowed a nice stack of books and a DVD from her lending library.

The day after our meeting with Angie, we had our VBAC consult. My doctor is a family practice doctor, which means that if for some reason after I attempt a VBAC (vaginal birth after a cesarean), or TOLAC (trial of labor after a cesarean), it isn’t successful and I need a repeat cesarean, an OB would perform the surgery. So J and I met with an OB who took a look through my medical records and cesarean surgery notes to make sure he agreed that I’d be a good candidate for a VBAC. I wasn’t nervous because I’ve done a ton of research into this, my doctor is supportive, the last OB I was seeing was supportive, and we took a VBAC education course already, but a small part of me was afraid that the OB would say something that totally changed my plans. Luckily, it was a quick conversation and he said I’m a “great candidate” for a VBAC and have a high probability for success.

We took a newborn class called All About Babies this past weekend. It went over things like how to soothe your baby, when to call your health care provider, etc. Here’s J giving our “baby” a bath:

His face is because I'm taking his picture, not because of the bath/diapering. Or so he tells me.
His face is because I’m taking his picture, not because of the bath/diapering. Or so he tells me.

We’re also now halfway done with our Hypnobabies classes. I’ve been surprised that the weekly 3.5 hour class actually goes by pretty quickly and we’ve been doing a good job of keeping up on our homework.

Finally, more kitchen progress!

IMG_3769
Cutest little dishwasher ever. Also, that’s not the final color of the cabinets.

Looking forward to: July. June is incredibly busy since I’ve scheduled everything I want to get done, dinners with people I want to see, etc. prior to July. I’m hoping to spend July trying to relax as much as possible since baby could show up in July! July also means that J will be done with marathon training! (His marathon is June 20.)

Most embarrassing moment: I had my first official pregnancy breakdown on our way to/once we arrived at our VBAC consult appointment. I somehow mixed up the street name for where the clinic was located and got us lost and we were late to our appointment. This was particularly stressful for me since I: 1) Don’t like making mistakes and 2) HATE being late to things. After crying in the waiting room and again in the exam room, I felt sufficiently silly and pulled myself together.

Most surreal moment: My co-workers threw me a baby shower!

IMG_3797

It was such a nice shower, complete with an adorable diaper cake, (truly) fun games, delicious lemon cake and awesome and thoughtful gifts. It still didn’t feel real that I was actually having a baby shower — incredible.

Current stresses: Trying to stay on top of kick counting and then deciding if baby is moving enough/same as usual, etc. I understand why kick counting is so controversial. Also, getting everything done that’s on my to-do list! Also, overbooking myself. Bad idea when 30+ weeks pregnant. Breakdowns happen (see: Most embarrassing moment, above.)

4 thoughts on “Third Trimester Recap: Weeks 29-30

  1. So glad everything is going well! Aren’t epsom soaks THE best?! So relaxing and restorative. Hope to see you soon, friend! xo.

    1. I interviewed quite a few doulas before choosing the one I’m working with! I got a few recommendations from the doula we worked with when I was pregnant with Charlie and also the Childbirth Collective was a great resource to search for doulas that’d be a good fit.

Leave a Reply

