Back at it (Garry Bjorkland Half training)

To be totally honest, the plan was to say goodbye to the blog. It had started to feel like a lot of work and I felt guilty for not posting. So I made up my mind. I just needed to get around to writing a final post. And then my domain name and hosting auto-renewed for another year, so here I am. And I realized that maybe I wasn’t ready to be done after all.

Plus, my half marathon training kicks off TOMORROW! I’m pumped to be training for something again, but it’s so hard to tell what my fitness level could be after the next 12 weeks.

From the last time I ran the Garry Bjorkland half -- can't wait for the exciting finish through the streets of downtown Duluth!
From the last time I ran the Garry Bjorkland half — can’t wait for the exciting finish through the streets of downtown Duluth!

The plan was to base build all winter, but…..well, life. The little guy wasn’t sleeping well and we were all majorly sick all winter. Every time I’d start back up, I’d get slammed with another awful virus, complete with a fever and chills/body aches, and all of a sudden a couple of weeks would pass by. So then, all of a sudden my first race of the year (the Point Bock 5 Mile) was upon me, and I had hardly been running a few miles per week. I surprised myself by running the entire time and pulling off a decent pace. It was stupid to do that because I was sore for the next week, but it gave me the racing bug again and gave me confidence.

Post-race beer tent. With a baby.
Post-race beer tent. With a baby.

I got a couple of weeks of base building under my belt and my hip started tightening up during runs. It felt exactly the same as what was happening during training for my most recent Twin Cities Marathon. On top of that, my plantar fasciitis was flaring up and my ankle hurt, so back to Orthology I went. After two visits, I’m already feeling much stronger and almost back to normal!

Here’s what thisย first week of training looks like:

Monday – REST

Tuesday – 3 miles easy

Wednesday – 5x400s

Thursday – 3 miles easy

Friday – REST

Saturday – 3 miles (planning to keep the pace just slightly faster than easy for this one)

Sunday – 5 miles

The plan is to do strength training at least twice per week. I’ll also be doing my PT exercises at least five days/week and rolling and stretching every day.

At this point, I have NO idea what I’ll be capable of, pace-wise, come June. So I’m going to wait to set any goals and am going to tweak training paces as I go. I’m starting out aiming for 10:00 min/miles for easy runs, long runs between 10 and 10:30, intervals around 7:23 and pace runs at 9:10 and tempos at 8:50 pace. I’d love it if I could shave some time off of all of those paces, but they feel like a good starting point.

Anyone else training for an early summer half?

14 thoughts on “Back at it (Garry Bjorkland Half training)

  1. I was excited to see you posting again. I’m also training for the Gary Bjorklund this June. The snow every week is putting a bit of a damper on my training as I’m very much a fair weather runner, but I’m appreciative of the cooler temps so my dogs can join me on even my long runs without overheating.

      1. I’ve run it once before. I love the boost you get from the crowd the last 3 miles once you enter the Lakeside area. When I don’t run it, I volunteer helping with either the race course or the finish line. I’m excited! I’m hoping for a tailwind this year and no fog. =)

  2. My domain is also up for renewal, but I’m still on the fence. Great job on getting back into the swing of things and good luck on your half marathon training! I’ll be looking to you for inspiration! I thought I’d be ready to do a half by May, but um, nope.

    1. It was so interesting — it took a long time before I even had any desire to run again at all. And then it has just been such a hard come back! And please renew your domain!

  3. Blogging definitely is time consuming, especially as working new mom like you! But glad to hear an update from you after following your journey for so long.

    Orthology! Ah, such a love hate relationship I have with them ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Ha! Exactly ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for still reading after all this time! I’m starting to enjoy making time for it — rather than it feeling like such an obligation.

  4. So glad you’re back, friend! Looking forward to following your journey โ€“ and, for cheering for you at the half (Nick’s racing, so we’ll be there!) ๐Ÿ™‚ xo.

Leave a Reply

