Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Day in the life: after baby

2 Comments

I found an unpublished post that apparently I had all ready to go, so note that this is super outdated now! It looks like I wrote this on November 9, so little C was about three months old. I’m planning to do another one this week to see how things have changed 🙂 Enjoy!

I did one of these day in the life posts before baby and for fun, so here’s one after baby! I think I might do a weekend one soon, too, since our days look a lot different when we’re at home with little C all day!

12:57 a.m. – I hear stirring on the baby monitor. I turn over and hope Calvin will put himself back to sleep.

12:59 a.m. – the stirring has turned into aggressive fussing. I get up.

1:01 a.m. – I turn on his red night light, pick him up and start nursing him in the glider. For the middle of the night feedings, I keep the lights off (with the exception of his red night light) and don’t talk to him or anything. With minimal stimulation, he usually goes back to sleep pretty easily.

1:12 a.m. – I can tell he’s comfort nursing at this point, so I gently put him back down. He stirs, ever so slightly, and I creep out of the nursery. I turn the baby monitor back on and go to the kitchen to get my pump parts. Calvin’s been eating more lately at daycare, so I’m back to pumping once in the middle of the night. While pumping, I hear the little guy making some light fussing noises, but he eventually goes to sleep.

1:40 a.m. – back to bed

4:58 a.m. – wake up to fussing on the monitor

5:01 a.m. – repeat the process of quietly picking Calvin up and feeding him until I can tell he’s drifting back to sleep

5:15 a.m. – put Calvin back down and crawl into bed

6:21 a.m. – boooooo, baby’s awake again. I realize that this means he’s up for the day at this point.

6:23 a.m. – head into the nursery and turn on one of the (less bright) lamps. Greet Calvin with a bright and cheery “good morning!” He rewards me with a big, gummy smile and I unswaddle him and let him stretch and wake up a bit more before I turn on another lamp.

6:30 a.m. – we do some tummy time with the creepy stuffed dog that sings songs and says things like “I love you!” (in the creepiest voice ever) and practice grabbing onto things. Calvin tells us some stories AKA babbling.

IMG_0060

6:55 a.m. – diaper change and a quick wipe down with a washcloth. He got a bath the night before (and still smells like the Burt’s Bees baby wash and lotion we use!). I nurse him (more like a snack since he ate last only a couple of hours ago) to get him through until his first bottle at daycare.

7:05 a.m. – It’s PJ day at daycare, so we change him out of his nighttime PJs and into another set up fresh PJs for school! Is there anything cuter than a baby in PJs?

IMG_4743

7:20 a.m. – J gets Calvin buckled in his car seat and I kiss them both goodbye before heading into the kitchen for coffee and oatmeal.

7:25 a.m. – I hear J take off and I eat my breakfast while checking work emails.

7:45 a.m. – shower and finish getting ready for the day

8:30 a.m. – I’m working from home today, so I pump while responding to work emails, doing some editing work, etc.

11:00 a.m. – Another pumping session

11:20 a.m. – Put pumping supplies in a Ziploc baggie in the fridge so I don’t have to wash them after each session and label the milk for daycare.

11:25 a.m. – Find something to eat for lunch. Decide on a leftover creamy, key lime chicken enchilada I made for dinner a couple of nights ago.

11:55 a.m. – Put tonight’s dinner in the crockpot. Tonight, it’s Slow Cooker Honey Soy Chicken!

2:00 p.m.  – Pump again. My day is pretty much made up of pumping.

3:32 p.m. – I search for a snack and decide on pretzels and a granola bar. I make a mental note to buy some trail mix or something.

4:00 p.m. – Last pumping session of the day. Thank goodness.

5:00 p.m. – finish up a few work-related items, turn the crock pot from low to warm, pour rice and water into the rice cooker, and then leave to pick up the little guy from daycare

5:12 p.m. – arrive at daycare and get the run down from his teachers. It’s the same story every day — he didn’t sleep well. So early bedtime tonight!

5:27 p.m. – arrive back home and Calvin is on the border of losing it. Get him out of the car seat and try to get him in a better mood while I press “start” on the rice cooker.

5:35 p.m. – Calvin is really crabby, so I head to the couch to feed him.

5:42 p.m. – J gets back from his run and finishes up dinner. He steams some broccoli and dishes me up a plate.

5:45 p.m. – I hand off the baby and inhale eat my dinner. J is playing “airplane” with Calvin and I’m waiting for him to spit up all over daddy. Ha.

6:00 p.m. – We switch and J eats dinner while I get sing some songs to little C as I change him into a new pair of PJs. It’s at this point that I realize he’s in the same outfit we sent him to daycare in — score!

6:15 p.m. – J picks out a book to read to Calvin. Tonight it’s one of the books from my childhood — Clifford Gets a Kitten!

6:18 p.m. – I almost die of the cuteness that is J reading to C and C making some cute noises.

6:21 p.m. – story time is going so well, J starts on the second book he picked out, C is for Chafing!

6:22 p.m. – C has had enough and story time comes to an abrupt end.

6:30 p.m. – J says good night to Calvin and we head into the nursery. I turn all of the lights off except for his red night light and nurse him for the (fingers crossed) last time of the day.

6:32 p.m. – I put in my headphones and listen to Sharp Objects on Audible. Man, what a depressing turn from the last book I read, Mindy Kaling’s Why Not Me?

7:22 p.m – I’m pretty confident that he’s finally out, so I carefully lay him down and turn off the night light.

7:25 p.m. – Swear at the noises coming from the baby monitor.

7:28 p.m. – Finish up a load of laundry and wash the day’s bottles and pump parts

8:00 p.m. – start getting ready for bed. Hang out with J for a bit.

9:00 p.m. – lights out

2 thoughts on “Day in the life: after baby

  1. Glad C is for Chafing is getting some use 😉

Leave a Reply

