Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Two

Major delay in getting this up, because all week I *thought* I had hit publish. Bah.

Monday: Rest day.

Had a long, on-the-go day, so by the time evening rolled around, I ended up falling asleep before getting any stretching or strength training in.

Tuesday: 3 miles @ 9:38 pace (9:53, 9:46, 9:31)

Thanks, Kate, for the photo

Thanks, Kate, for the photo

A nice, easy run with Kate and Andrea felt good after a long day at work. Legs felt a little heavy, but no issues with my hip or foot!

Wednesday – Sunday: Zero mileage.

The rest of the week was a major F-A-I-L. A stomach bug left me out of commission. The most physical activity I got the rest of the week included 20,000+ steps on Saturday at an all-day work event at Winter Park (the Vikings training facility).

I was obviously frustrated with such an abrupt wrench in my training plans, but not going to get discouraged! Next week I’ll focus on getting back on track.

Has something like this happened to you in your training cycle? How’d you get back on track?

One thought on “Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Two

  1. erin

    Oh, no… so sorry you got a stomach bug! The worst. Hope you’re feeling better and were able to get out and enjoy the amazing weekend weather!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

