Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Six

Monday: Official rest day

Tuesday: 4 miles

Had a busy event day at work, coordinating media for the Girls on the Run Twin Cities luncheon. Kathrine Switzer was the keynote speaker and Carrie Tollefson was the event emcee! Talk about a lot of woman power!

IMG_0637

IMG_1707

IMG_1712

I ran into some Oiselle teammates, which was super fun! Also, Andrea and Jessie were there (great to finally meet Jessie in person)!

After work, I met Andrea and Kate for four miles, and BLEGH. Still sick for this one. I never felt like I was getting enough oxygen and the first mile felt like it took forever to get through.

Wednesday-Friday: Rest

Saturday: 8 miles (9:40 pace)

This run wasn’t great, I was still congested and I felt sluggish, but I’m happy with the pace I was able to maintain. Noticed my foot giving me some issues again, but nothing too distracting.

IMG_1745

Mmm, tried this Generation UCAN after my long run. I think I prefer the GU Recovery Brew slightly more, but this was tasty. I hardly had time to change clothes before it was time to take the little guy to swimming lessons! After some errands and his morning nap, we headed to Calvin’s first baseball game to watch Minnesota take on Indiana!

IMG_1753

It was the PERFECT day for baseball.

Sunday: 3 miles pace (8:50 average page. Splits – 9:26, 8:44, 8:24)

IMG_1763

This run went surprisingly well! I was still dealing with fun congestion issues, but even the day after a long run, my legs had no problem turning over.

So I’ve noticed some nagging hip discomfort that came and went after my last two runs. It feels very similar to what brought me into Orthology the last time. Keeping a close eye on it, and I might head back to Orthology for a tune up if it starts getting worse.

Did you get out to enjoy the nice weather this past weekend?

What kind of headphones do you use? I hardly ever run with music, but my yurbuds stopped working and the cheap replacement pair I bought fell out of my ears.

Leave a Reply

