Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Eight

Monday: Rest (strength training)

I dug my hand weights and yoga ball out of the basement (I’m still traumatized from the hours I spent bouncing Calvin on the yoga ball when he was little) and did a little strength training circuit. It felt SO good to lift again. I finished up with some stretching and foam rolling.

Tuesday: 4.5 miles (9:42 pace)

Weekly run with Andrea and Kate. This week, I made sure to fuel properly before heading out. Normally, since we run after Calvin’s bedtime, I wait to eat dinner until afterwards, so I’m pretty hungry throughout the run, which is why I think I usually struggle so much. This week, I had a couple of hard boiled eggs late in the afternoon and a Picky Bar an hour before we ran. I could definitely tell a difference — felt great the entire time!

Wednesday: Rest (strength training)

More strength training and stretching.

Thursday: 3 miles (9:05 pace)

I took the day off from work to get some things done around the house and get my hair cut! To start the day on the right note, I headed out for a three-miler and pushed a pace a little bit. It felt great and was sunny and warm and delightful!

IMG_1859

After running some errands, I headed to my salon to get a much (much)-needed haircut before meeting up with my co-workers for a fun evening at Ad Fed’s 32 Under 32 Awards where my colleague was nominated (and WON).

IMG_1873

IMG_1887

Friday: Rest (2.11 mile walk)

Another BEAUTIFUL day. We walked to daycare to pick up Calvin in the stroller and I met up with Kate and Andrea for an awesome meal at Handsome Hog where we dined al fresco.

pulled pork goodness
pulled pork goodness

Saturday: Rest (2.51 mile walk)

We decided to take advantage of yet another picture-perfect day by taking a walk with Calvin and the pup around Lake Nokomis. My legs felt a little tired by the time we were done and I felt just a little anxiety about my long run the next day.

IMG_1905

Sunday: 10 miles (9:40 pace)

DOUBLE DIGITS! My last double-digit run was September 22, 2013! Calvin woke me up at 4:30 a.m. to eat, and I drifted in and out of sleep until around 5:30 when I decided just to get up. I had made a breakfast cookie the night before and tried out some Generation UCAN to fuel my run.

IMG_1910

Andrea met me at my house at 7:30 because we wanted to beat the heat. Even though it wasn’t super warm yet, the sun was out, so I’m glad I decided on distance shorts and tank for this one:

IMG_1915

We took one of my favorite running routes that eventually takes us around Lake Nokomis. Minneapolis doesn’t have all of its water fountains turned on yet and I had (at the last minute) decided against bringing my water with me, so I was definitely thirsty once we found one working water fountain.

The ten miles flew by (thanks to good company), and we treated ourselves to pastries at Turtle Bread after we finished.

One bummer: My knee, hip and foot bothered me for about half of the run. I’m keeping an eye on it and hoping whatever is going on will resolve itself.

The rest of the day was great — we got some things done around the house, spent some time with the little guy outside and went out for burgers and beer that evening.

How did you enjoy the nice weather in the Twin Cities this weekend?

2 thoughts on “Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Eight

  1. Welcome back to double digits! Great running, Hyedi! I hope any foot / ankle / hip pain have resolved and that you’re feeling back at 100 percent. How has MPLS not turned on all the water fountains yet?!

Leave a Reply

