Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Nine

Monday: REST

I did a 20-minute arm workout (Thanks, Minneapolis Running!), my PT exercises, stretched and foam rolled

Tuesday: 5 miles (9:40 pace)

Pretty much everything was working against me for this one — my calves were in knots still from mowing the lawn over the weekend and I was SO HUNGRY after a busy day of meetings that I scarfed down some food 45 minutes before we headed out on our run. But after a slow and sloggy start, I felt a bit better and then started to hit a wall with around a mile left. The heat and humidity didn’t help.

Friday: 4 miles (9:30 pace)

Andrea and I finally checked out Mill City Running’s Flapjack Fridays! The run starts from Mill City Running in Northeast Minneapolis at 6:30 and there are 2.5, 5 and 7 mile loop routes. We only wanted to go about four miles, so we did an out and back. I never get sick of running across the Stone Arch Bridge. Once we got back to the store, we got in line for pancakes. There were a variety of toppings (um, hello Nutella), but I opted for good ol’ maple syrup and butter.

The rain started just as we dug into our pancakes. It actually felt pretty good after a slightly humid run.

IMG_1950

I headed home to shower and get ready for the day. Since I was working from home, it was pretty easy to ease into the work day!

That night, J and I met up with my co-workers to see Tracy Morgan at Mystic Lake:

IMG_1958

It was a great show and felt good to laugh. SUPER inappropriate, but funny.

Saturday: REST

We hit up Sea Salt for lunch (Calvin’s first trip there!)

IMG_1964

Afterwards, I went with Andrea to see Book of Mormon (erm, for my fourth time). I might have a problem.

IMG_1971

Sunday: MDRA Mississippi 10 Miler (1:29:55)

Hooray for a new 10 mile PR!

I knew I was going to like this race, when I realized the start line was in the middle of a downhill. It was a small field, but I still lined up middle-back of the pack. I made a rookie move by not starting my Garmin until I was about to cross the start line — it took almost three miles for it to finally catch up and find my location.

The race starts on the trails in Crosby Regional Park and as you come up to Shepard Road, you hit the first water stop — around 2.5 miles. I took water, but soon after that, while I was still feeling good, I started to feel kind of chilled and realized I had stopped sweating. The next water stop wasn’t until five miles, but I took two cups of water and also had half my GU. I started feeling a little better, but was still looking forward to the next water stop at mile 7.5. This could have ended up as a disaster, but since it didn’t, I’m just going to learn from it and make sure to better hydrate pre-race next time.

I think my favorite thing about this race was that since it’s an out and back, we got to see the leaders on their way back to the finish. And I’m not kidding, 90% of them actually smiled and said things like “great job” and “keep it up” as they passed us mortals who hadn’t even hit the turnaround point.

I started to pick up the pace around mile five and was keeping it right in the 8:40s. There were some challenging hills on the course, but the downhills made them worth it. I was still feeling good after mile 9, so I decided to try to go sub-8:00 for the last mile. I crossed the finish line and couldn’t stop smiling for the next 24 hours. Everything fell into place and I was really happy how this went. I also learned a lot about where my training has brought me and how I should approach the half in just a few weeks.

I’d definitely recommend this race! It’s well organized, small and a great course (even though it’s an out and back).

Pre-race fuel: Breakfast cookie

Race day outfit: Distance shorts and Oiselle shimmel

Splits: 9:45, 9:04, 9:20, 9:17, 8:40, 8:45, 8:45, 8:42, 8:10, 7:59

28th female, 13th AG

5 thoughts on “Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Nine

  1. Nikki

    It’s kind of crazy reading that you ran in the heat and humidity last week. I ran on Thursday and Saturday morning. Both mornings were cold and foggy in the mid-40s. I kind of hope race day is like this =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

