Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Ten

Monday: REST

20 minute arm toning circuit and some stretching and foam rolling

Tuesday: 5 miles (9:30 pace)

IMG_2006

Wednesday: REST

Did my PT exercises and some pushups and planks.

Thursday: REST

Did this, instead of running:

5797155E-1DE5-40A6-AAA9-7ACEE8E11C82

(Not pictured: A couple of delicious glasses of wine.)

Friday: 5 miles (9:20 pace)

Got a free pair of Fitsoks and tested out my new Oiselle stride shorts
Got a free pair of Fitsoks and tested out my new Oiselle stride shorts

Even though the forecast called for morning thunderstorms, I woke up to clear skies. I decided to hit up Flapjack Friday again and had a lovely five mile run with Sara! Bummer though, not even a half a mile into the run, I felt a sharp pain shoot through my neck and shoulders. It was uncomfortable through the rest of the run, but it wasn’t until I stopped running that the pain really set in. I’d experienced something like this a few times in the past, moving wrong in the shower, etc. but this was by far the worst pain. So I found a chiropractor with an opening and carefully drove (without being able to turn my head) to his office for an adjustment. I left still in pain, but slightly looser.

I spent the next 24+ hours laying in bed, icing on and off. Thank goodness for J who took the lead on Calvin duties, especially since Calvin is in a “crawl all over mommy” stage.

Saturday: REST (still in a lot of pain)

Much of Saturday was spent in bed, icing on and off, but I did make it to C’s last swimming lesson (he LOVES the water now!), which made me decide I NEED to get back in the pool to do some lap swimming again.

Sunday: 11 miles (9:29 pace)

IMG_2056

This was rough, but we powered through! Andrea and I met at Lake Harriet and ran the three lakes. It loosened up quite a bit, but my neck/left shoulder bothered me the entire time. Also, was feeling some soreness in my knees.

I need to find a better water bottle to run with. Any suggestions? Luckily, there are plenty of water stops around this route, but I’d still like to hydrate more regularly on warm days.

After we finished, we hit up the Rose Street Patisserie. I tried their chocolate chip cookie (it was OK, I think this batch was overdone) and an unpictured feta and spinach croissant (YUM).

IMG_2054

I’m getting anxious for race day to get here already! I’m still not setting any goals — if everything falls into place like it did on the day of my 10-mile race, I could be looking at a really solid half, but if it’s like my day on Sunday, it could be a struggle. We will wait and see!

Favorite post-run treat?

One thought on “Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon Training: Week Ten

Leave a Reply

