Race Recap: Red, White and Boom! Half Marathon RELAY

IMG_2425

Race morning was early. Calvin woke up at 3 and finally went back down around 3:30. I tossed and turned until 4:30 when my alarm went off. I ate the breakfast cookie I made the night before and drank a cup of coffee and glass of water.

I wasn’t feeling my stride shorts for some reason, so I decided on trying out my new pair of holepunch distance shorts (even though you’re not supposed to do anything new on race day? What can I say, I was feeling daring!), along with my singlet, Title Nine bra and Injinji socks.

I was out the door by 5:30 and realized once I was already well on my way that I forgot the Picky Bar I was planning to eat since I was Runner 2 and wouldn’t start running for a couple of hours. I was hoping they’d have some food at the start line or something (they didn’t). I was surprised that all of the street parking was snatched up by the time I got to the St. Anthony Main area around 5:50 a.m.! I ended up parking in a lot and walked down to Father Hennepin Park to meet up with some of the Oiselle Volee team for a photo. Great to meet so many new birds!

IMG_2427

Suzy, Jessy and I (other Minnesota volee) got on a shuttle to take us to the half marathon halfway point to wait for Tracy, Jana and Beth. I chatted with a friendly runner (and GOTR coach!) on the way. Once we got there (uh, after a slight detour — I think the driver may have gotten lost?) we got in line for the porta potties and all of a sudden, the first runners were already coming through!

Since Tracy is speedy speedy, it wasn’t long before I saw her pop-colored shorts in the distance and I got ready to tag in. She slapped my hand and I was off!

It took awhile for me to feel comfortable because everyone around me was running somewhere around a 7:30-7:45 pace, so I was being passed left and right. My hip felt fine, but I was still trying to take it relatively easy, but getting passed by EVERYONE can be kind of discouraging, and I realized I was running 7:55 for longer than I would have liked. I put the brakes on and slowed myself wayyyyy down. Eventually, I settled into a groove and enjoyed running on this new route.

A slight twinge in my knee and hamstring was all that bothered me during this race. I felt hungry almost immediately and longed for the Picky Bar that was sitting on my kitchen counter. I felt plenty hydrated from the day before and took water at a couple of the stops (nice to see the MCR crew around mile 12)!

I miscalculated how much I had left in the tank and started picking up the pace slightly too early. I kind of ran out of gas before I even got to the Stone Arch Bridge, so was running on pure adrenaline from the crowd lining the bridge, but wasn’t able to kick it in at the end. I crossed the finish line feeling slightly nauseated, but still devoured a red, white and blue popsicle a volunteer handed me with no issues. (But the grilled hotdogs they were also handing out? I decided to pass on that one.)

We all gathered for another photo…

IMG_2431

Then we headed to Wilde Roast Cafe for coffee and brunch. I was on a tight time schedule, so I savored ordered an almond milk chai and chatted for as long as I could before having to head out.

IMG_2434

After I got home, I was thrilled to have a leftover spring roll and coconut macaroon from our trip to the Midtown Global Market waiting for me. Calvin was sleeping, so I got to take a shower AND blow dry my hair. Heaven. When he woke up, he wanted to play with my medal:
IMG_2442

We finished the day out by cooking out with friends and I enjoyed a beer (or two) in my new pint glass ❤

IMG_2453

I was so happy that my hip held up and I felt mostly recovered from Grandma’s weekend. Oh, and I LOVE my holepunch distance shorts — SO lightweight and breathable! I hit up PT yesterday and I’m close to being discharged! He did more Graston work on my IT band and hamstring and I’ll do another week of exercises and fairly easy running and then hopefully I can dive into my next training cycle!

Have you ever done a relay? 

What’d you do to celebrate the Fourth?

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: Red, White and Boom! Half Marathon RELAY

  1. How fun to meetup with so many fellow birds at a race! I’ve done relays before but always on an indoor track (Milwaukee has a big indoor marathon relay race) never outside. I feel for you about the race hunger bit – I’ve had that happen before and it’s not a great feeling!

Leave a Reply

