Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Update: Weekly Workouts

4 Comments

Besides the Red, White and Boom relay, I’ve been taking things verrrry easy, going to PT once a week and doing LOTS of yoga. I’ve been feeling good, so this is the first week Coach is having me do any kind of speedwork and I’m so excited! In the meantime, here’s what last week’s running, etc. looked like:

Monday: Red, White and Boom! Half Marathon Relay

Tuesday: 20 minute recovery run (actual run 19:38 – 2 miles, 9:49 pace) + yoga

The forecast was calling for rain in the next hours or so, so I grabbed the BOB and headed to daycare to get Calvin, but I failed in beating the storm (actually, Weather Underground failed). So halfway there, when it started pouring, I had to turn around and head back. I finished my 20 minutes, jumped in the car and picked up Calvin. The run felt pretty decent, even having raced the day before. I had gone to PT earlier in the day, so I was a bit sore from being worked on, but nothing too terrible.

Wednesday: Yoga! (and PT exercises)

Thanks to Jessie’s recommendation, a co-worker and I hit up the Galleria’s Root Down, Ramp Up yoga series. It was a HOT day, but yoga in the sunshine felt great.

IMG_2465

Thursday: Yoga + core work

We left the Cities for the cabin around 6:30 p.m. and after we FINALLY made it there (the POURING AND BLINDING rain slowed us down), we put Calvin to bed and I got in some hamstring yoga and core work before going to bed.

Friday: REST (PT exercises and a 5-minute Jasyoga reset)

It wasn’t the nicest day at the cabin, so we laid around for much of the day before heading to the Grand Rapids Legion (oh yeah) for Burger Night with J’s grandparents 🙂

IMG_2482

I won some steaks in the meat raffle. So yeah, worth it.

Saturday: 40 minute run (4.47 miles, 9:04 pace) + yoga (psoas and a Jasyoga hip sequence)

Jesse and I left the little guy with his grandparents and headed to the Prairie River Trail to get in some miles. It was only 68 degrees, but the sun was quite toasty. I’m SO thankful for my current favorite piece of running gear, my new Oiselle mesh cap!

This hat is magical

This hat is magical

It took a little while for me to warm up. My hip felt fine, but the area in my hamstring/top of the calf that bothered me during Monday’s race, was acting up. Eventually, I settled into a groove and felt otherwise good.

A45B3641-ED2E-47F8-AEE8-81FB88AE6452

The rest of the day was glorious. I did some yoga outside and we took Calvin on his first boat ride!

IMG_2512

Sunday: 30 minute run (3.38 miles, 9:05 pace) + core work (and PT exercises)

By the time I got out for this run, it was pretty humid and I was tired from a weekend of relaxing — or maybe it was the beer or lack of anything healthy in my diet. Either way, this run required a LOT of effort. I finished the day with some core work while watching some Olympic Trials track and field!

Who are your T&F favorites who are headed to Rio?

4 thoughts on “Update: Weekly Workouts

  1. Love your dress in that meat raffle pic! Hope your hip + hammie are feeling ok this week!

  2. Hope your injuries are much better now and a very very very late congratulations on the birth of your beautiful baby boy!

Leave a Reply

