Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

Whistlestop Half Marathon Training: Less Than Seven Weeks to Go!

Leave a comment

Monday: 20 minute swim + legs/glutes

A week out of the pool and the remnants of a cold made this a bit rough, but I still saw improvement in the time it took me to complete my time — I’m getting faster!

Tuesday: 3.52 miles (9:35 pace) + abs

IMG_3053

That afternoon, I headed the new and shiny U.S. Bank Stadium for a VIP BiPro Protein Water launch event. It was cool to see the new stadium and the BiPro folks even introduced me to pro runner Jordan Hasay and former pro (and Minnesota Vikings) NFL player Ben Leber! They were super nice and it was fun to chat running, nutrition and recovery. I’m hoping to have an event recap (with a sweet discount code!) up tomorrow.

Wednesday: Arms/back + Jasyoga

Thursday: 3.18 miles (9:35 pace) + abs

IMG_3119

Tired after abs

Friday: Total body strength training

Saturday: 1.62 mile walk + abs

Probably should’ve gotten my run in on Saturday, but my hip and knee were bothering me so I took an extra rest day. And I knew I was going to be at the State Fair walking around a lot, so I didn’t want to overdo it.

The Dixie Chicks were amazing. I’ve loved them for forever and had given up on my dream of seeing them live, so I was thrilled when they announced their world tour, with a stop in MN!

On top of everything, we had the BEST SEATS EVER!

Photo credit: @mlswenson

Photo credit: @mlswenson

Since I’ll be going back to the fair with the fam, I kept my eating relatively under control while I was there — a Pronto Pup, some wine and a beer, some Chicago Mix popcorn and a salmon and shrimp slider (DELICIOUS), and I called it good.

IMG_3203

Sunday: 4.18 miles (10 min pace)

Oh boy, this was rough. I already knew I wasn’t going to run as far as I should, seven weeks out from a half because my hip was bothering me, but once I got out there, it was hard to even make it four miles! It was hot (I didn’t get out until around 2) and I obviously didn’t have enough water for a warm day (and all of the adult beverages the night before). My first mile was around 10:40 — I wanted to go out easy, but I couldn’t have gone faster if I wanted to. I did pick up the pace a little and finished my last mile in 9:45.

This week is all about continuing my strength training and coming up with a plan with my PT to get me through the half.

Have you been to the/a State Fair this year? What’d you eat?

I’m linking up today with Jess and Jess!

Author: hyedi

A 20-something on a journey to live a healthy, balanced life.

Leave a Reply

